Lock/Unlock a Video Call
Lock a Video Call for extra privacy and security, when enabled in your clinic.
For added privacy and security, call hosts are able to lock the call screen after joining a caller, when this option is enabled by the clinic administrator. The lock feature ensures that no other team member can join the call from the clinic waiting area page. This feature is set at the clinic level and clinic administrators can decide whether or not to make the the lock call function available for the clinic.
Please note: If you add a participants to the call or invite someone using the Call Manager, they will come directly into the call even when it is locked.
Please see below for lock/unlock functionality
Your clinic administrator will turn on the lock functionality for your clinic if required. If you are a Clinic administrator go to: Configure > Waiting Area > Call locks. Click the button to enable/disable call locking in the clinic, then click Save.
Individual clinicians can then decide whether or not to lock a call once they join the patient.

Once the option is enabled, health service providers in a call will see the lock icon at the bottom of the call screen. Click the lock icon to lock the call. You will see a confirmation that the call is now locked.

Once the call is locked, none of your fellow team members in the clinic will be able to join from the waiting area. The lock icon will change to a locked padlock in the call screen. You can lock or unlock a call at any time during the consultation. The caller will see a message alerting them that the call is lock or unlocked.
![]()
When a locked call is in progress, the call will show as a Locked Call in the Waiting Area, so no-one else can join the call (the Locked call button will be grey in colour for all other team members to indicate they cannot interact with that call).
You are still able to add a participant to the call from the waiting area if desired. Please note, If you transfer a locked call using Call Manager, when the call transfers it will remain locked. The locked call will show in the new waiting area.
